Computed from the pricing index, checked 2026-10-02
AI coding tool pricing statistics 2026
Across 16 AI app builders and coding tools, the median cheapest paid individual plan costs $20 a month (n = 14 tools with a monthly price). Coding editors and agents have a median of $20; app builders $22.50. 13 of 16 offer a free plan. The dearest self-serve individual tier is OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans) at $500 a month. Computed from our pricing index, checked 2026-10-02.
- $20median cheapest paid planper month, n = 14 tools
- $20median, coding editors and agentscheapest paid individual plan
- $22.50median, AI app builderscheapest paid individual plan
- 13 of 16offer a free plana plan priced at $0
- 8 of 14start at exactly $20cheapest paid plan
- $500highest individual tierOpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans), Pro ($500)
Entry prices
The cheapest paid individual plan ranges from $8 (OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans), Go) to $30 (v0, Plus (per user)). 8 of 14 start at exactly $20. Where a vendor also shows a discounted annual rate, the median saving on individual paid plans is 16% (n = 10 plans).
Use this chart
Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with a visible link to Vibe Coding Intel. Paste this where you want the chart.
Top tiers
The most expensive self-serve individual tier is $500 a month (OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans), Pro ($500)). Team, business, enterprise and pay-per-token plans are excluded, so these figures compare what one person can sign up for without talking to sales.
Use this chart
Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with a visible link to Vibe Coding Intel. Paste this where you want the chart.
| Tool | Type | Free plan | Cheapest paid | Top individual |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans) | Coding editor or agent | Yes | $8 (Go) | $500 (Pro ($500)) |
| GitHub Copilot | Coding editor or agent | Yes | $10 (Pro) | $100 (Max) |
| Atoms.dev | AI app builder | Yes | $20 (Pro (100-credit tier)) | $100 (Max (500-credit tier)) |
| Base44 | AI app builder | Yes | $20 (Starter) | $200 (Elite) |
| Claude Code (Claude subscriptions) | Coding editor or agent | No | $20 (Pro) | $200 (Max 20x) |
| Cursor | Coding editor or agent | Yes | $20 (Pro) | $200 (Ultra) |
| Emergent | AI app builder | Yes | $20 (Standard) | $200 (Pro) |
| Kiro | Coding editor or agent | Yes | $20 (Pro) | $200 (Power) |
| Replit Agent | AI app builder | No | $20 (Core) | $100 (Pro) |
| Windsurf | Coding editor or agent | Yes | $20 (Pro) | $200 (Max) |
| Bolt.new | AI app builder | Yes | $25 (Pro) | $25 (Pro) |
| Lovable | AI app builder | Yes | $25 (Pro (100 credits tier)) | $25 (Pro (100 credits tier)) |
| Softgen | AI app builder | No | $25 (Starter) | $49 (Pro) |
| v0 | AI app builder | Yes | $30 (Plus (per user)) | $30 (Plus (per user)) |
| Cline (BYO key) | Coding editor or agent | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| Google Antigravity | Coding editor or agent | Yes | not stated | not stated |
Method
Source: our AI coding tool pricing index, 16 tools (8 AI app builders and 8 coding editors or agents) and 65 plan records, each read from the vendor's own pricing page or documentation and dated. Checked 2026-10-02; 16 of 16 tools carry a "verified, partial" status. A "paid individual plan" is a plan with a monthly-billed price above $0 whose name does not mention team, business, enterprise, seat or API. Plans that publish only an annual rate have no monthly price and are left out of the medians. Prices are list prices in USD, before tax; credit allowances and overage differ by tool, so a plan price is not a prediction of what your usage costs. The figures are recomputed each time the site is built. Related: the pricing index, Cursor pricing explained and Lovable pricing explained.
Embed the price table
Free to embed on any page, with one condition: keep the credit link to AI Coding Tool Pricing Index by Vibe Coding Intel that comes with every snippet. Updated with the index.
Open the embed on its own to preview it.
Cite this
Data version 2026-10-02. Stable address: https://vibecodingintel.com/pricing/statistics/. Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with a link back.